Curriculum & Subjects

Academies schools follow the National Curriculum for England, with additional lessons in Arabic Language. Islamic and Social Studies are available for Muslim puplils to meet the requirements of the UAE Ministry of Education.

The National Curriculum for England is defined by 'key stages'; Key Stage 1 and 2 in Primary School. In addition to offering education from Key Stage 1 to 2, Aldar Academies Primary Schools offers Foundation classes for 3 to 5 year olds.

Students begin their secondary school years in Key Stage 3 (Years 7, 8 and 9), and then move into Key Stage 4 (Years 10 and 11). During KS4 they sit a range of UK national exams GCSE (General Certificate of Secondary Education) and IGCSE (International General Certificate of Secondary Education). If students achieve the required grades they go onto an advanced level of study which is a prerequisite for university, either via the British A-Levels or the International Baccalaureate.

A Personal, Social, Health Education (PSHE) programme runs alongside an initiative called SEAL (Social, Emotional Aspects of Learning) throughout all the schools From Year 5 PSHE also includes Citizenship (PSHCE).

The curriculum gives a complete learning experience to your child. It is not only the lessons and activities that are planned, organised and provided when at school, it is also the tone, standards, quality and discipline of the school and the attitudes and values it portrays. This is often referred to as "the hidden curriculum". The curriculum should be seen as much in terms of experience, as of the knowledge and skills we believe the children should acquire.

List of Subjects

  • English
  • World Literature
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Arabic
  • French or Spanish
  • Social Studies
  • History
  • Geography
  • Citizenship/Islamic Studies
  • Physical Education (PE)
  • The Arts – Art, Music and Drama
  • Technology – Information Communication Technology (ICT), Design & Technology
  • Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE)